To be sure of what happens to your emails in RAYNET, it is important to distinguish between the private email view and the shared record in the CRM.
A connected inbox in the Email module serves purely as your private view and a mirror of your email inbox, where messages are visible only to you and no public record is created from them. Only when you raynet an email (manually or via automatic Rayneting) does an official Email CRM activity get created, which, depending on your permission settings, will then be visible to other users in the history of a Client, Lead, or Deal.
Deleting an Email
Deleting or moving a message to the trash in the Email module only removes it from your personal inbox, but does not affect the activity already created in the CRM. The message will therefore remain visible in the history of the Client, Lead, or Deal. If you want to permanently remove an email from the CRM, deleting it in the email module is not enough. You must use the unraynet button. This action can only be performed directly in the Email module by the user whose inbox is connected, where multiple emails can also be processed in bulk.
Email unraynetting
Raynetting emails allows you to link an email to a record in the CRM, making it easier to track communication. However, it can sometimes happen that an email was raynetted by mistake or assigned to the wrong contact, which can lead to inaccuracies in the records.
In such a case, you can unraynet the email. This action will remove the linked context and participants. If the email had a security level other than Shared, it will automatically be set to Shared after unraynetting. Re-raynetting by the owner will not change the security level – it will remain Shared, but the owner can subsequently modify it as needed.
How to unraynet an email
Open the detail of the email marked as Raynetted. Click the button with three dots » Unraynet. To unraynet the email, you need to meet the conditions, listed below.
If the email was unraynetted, it can only be raynetted again manually. Even if it was originally raynetted automatically, after unraynetting it will no longer be included in automatic raynetting.
Conditions for unraynetting
For an email to be unraynetted, the following conditions must be met:
- No other activities are linked to the email, such as meetings, phone calls, etc. If there are other activities linked, unraynetting will not be possible.
- The user is the owner of the email or has access to the same mailbox from which the email was raynetted.
- The user has the right to edit records.
- The Email activity must not be locked.
Bulk unraynetting
Emails can also be unraynetted in bulk. In the selected Mail folder, mark the emails you want to unraynet. A bulk actions menu will then appear at the top. Click the three dots button and select Unraynet. After confirming the action, all selected emails will be successfully unraynetted.
You can select a maximum of 200 emails at once, just like in list views.