The lock record feature is used to prevent any further editing of a record (e.g., Account, Deal, Event). Only the record owner or an administrator is allowed to lock and unlock the record.
This feature is useful when you know your record is final - you don't need to edit it further, and you don't want anyone else to be allowed to modify your data.
Access the lock record feature from the record detail (in our case, Meetings) by clicking on the three dots » Security.
If you are the record owner (or an administrator), you will have the toggle button for locking records available in Security.
After locking the record, you will see a lock icon on the detailed card. It will not be possible to edit anything in the Meeting. Only the Discussion tab will remain available.
Only the meeting owner or administrator can unlock the record again. If you are not the owner or administrator, the Lock or Unlock button will not be available in Security.
Preventing users from unlocking records
As an administrator, you can set up for users with the Full Throttle or Certain Restrictions roles to not be allowed to unlock locked records. In this case, it will not be possible for the record to be unlocked by anyone, not even the owner, only by an administrator.
Tip: This can also be used, for example, to deal with a supervisor check scenario, where the user who is the record owner confirms that the record has been processed by locking it. An administrator can then be sure that no one (including the owner) has modified it afterward.
To access permission settings, click on your name " Settings » User Administration » select a user » User Authorization » Individual Permissions.