The Visibility Tree will make your life easier if you have a large number of users in Raynet and need to set up a structure for them and whose records they should be able to see. This will let you keep track of which superiors can see records of their subordinates on multiple levels. The tree structure lets you group, move or assign security profiles to them. Find out more about visibility tree settings with profiles in this article. The visibility tree is only available if you have ten or more users in Raynet. It is up to you if you use this feature or keep the default settings.
Activating and setting up the visibility tree
The CRM account administrator has access to the Visibility Tree settings. Click on your name to access the Settings.
Here you need to go to Security » Visibility Tree and click the green Activate button.
When the visibility tree is activated, the first (default) node is displayed and contains users who have permission to see all users' records or are administrators. This node is called Can see everyone's records.
Additional sub-nodes (e.g., for different departments) are added using the Plus button. You then add individual users to these nodes. The tree structure is set up so that all users who are above a node can see their own records and the records of the users below them. In the top right corner, you can view the List of Users, which can also be filtered to see users already in the tree or uncategorized users.
In each node, use the eye icon to select whether users of that node can see each other's records. Clicking on a specific user will open a window on the right with information about whose records they can see and who can see their records. Click the Change button to modify whose records the user can see:
- everyone's records,
- their own records,
- their own and from specific users.
If the individual settings do not match, the system will always alert you to the discrepancy with a red exclamation point next to that user. If you set for the user to be able to see everything, this user will appear in the default node.
Add more nodes if you need, either on the same level or below the nodes you already have. This creates a well organized tree structure. Once the tree is complete, click the Save button. If there is a collision or a user is missing from the tree, the system will alert you with an error message and the tree will not be saved.
Each node can be renamed by hovering over the panel and clicking the pencil icon. More options will also appear above the panel. Add another user to the panel using the plus button, remove an entire panel using the X, or move it below or above another panel in the hierarchy.
If you need to have one user in two different nodes, click the plus button next to the node they are not in yet. In the list of users, you need to click Including users in the tree to display the users that have already been added. Select the user and confirm by clicking Select and Close.
If the tree is complex and you need to check where the user has been added, click on List of Users » select a user » Show in tree. The user will be highlighted in green and by clicking this button again you can switch between all the different locations.
If you remove all users from a node, it will become an empty node, but only if there is another node below. You can either delete it or add users to it using the plus button. It is also possible to move users from a different node to it. This is done by hovering over a user, clicking the button with the move symbol and selecting the empty node.
If the tree is valid, you can Save it and then set the security. After saving, the permissions will be recalculated and set for all users. Users whose permissions have been changed will be prompted to reload the application.
It is possible to configure Security Settings for individual users directly in the visibility tree by clicking on a specific user or by selecting a user from the List of Users. Here you need to hover over the user's header containing their name and Open user account permission settings. This will open the user's individual permissions, which you can customize as needed.
Deactivating the visibility tree
If you would like to go back to using the original security features, you can deactivate the tree by clicking the trash can icon that appears when you hover over the Visibility tree heading. A notification will appear saying that the tree will be deleted, but the security settings will remain. You will then need to click Deactivate.